The Ship Kings #2 The Voyage of the Unquiet Ice by Andrew McGahan

I loved Book #1 by Andrew McGahan, The Coming of the Whirlpool’.

And I love, love, love Book #2 ‘The Voyage of the Unquiet.’

It’s as simple as that!

It’s beautifully written and constructed.
It deals with the big themes of identity, belonging and coming of age stuff.
Dow Amber is a believable, likeable hero.
The world of the Ship Kings is so well-drawn that even someone as visually unimaginative as myself can see what Dow sees.

I can’t wait for McGahan to write the next two books in this series – The War of the Four Isles and The Ocean of the Dead (check out his blog here).

This is a sea-faring, adventure series designed for teens, but accessible to any age and gender. The nautical language is technical but understandable and kept to a minimum.

McGahan is an award winning Australian author whose foray into teen fiction is a stand out success. I cannot recommend this series to you highly enough.

Stop what you’re doing and find yourself a copy of these two books – now!

One thought on “The Ship Kings #2 The Voyage of the Unquiet Ice by Andrew McGahan

  1. Pingback: 2020: The Stats

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s