Walter Scott Prize


“Sponsored by Sir Walter Scott’s distant kinsmen the Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch, the Prize celebrates quality, and innovation of writing in the English language, and is open to books published in the previous year in the UK, Ireland or the Commonwealth.

Reflecting the subtitle ‘Sixty Years Since’ of Scott’s most famous work Waverley, the majority of the storyline must have taken place at least 60 years ago. Honouring the achievements of the founding father of the historical novel, the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction is one of the most prestigious literary prizes in the world. With a total value of over £30,000, it is unique for rewarding writing of exceptional quality which is set in the past.

The Prize was founded in 2010, and is awarded at the Borders Book Festival in Melrose, Scotland, in June every year. The winner receives £25,000 and shortlisted authors each receive £1000.”



The Mirror and the Light by Hilary Mantel
(A) The Tolstoy Estate by Steven Conte
(A) A Room Made of Leaves by Kate Grenville
Hamnet by Maggie O’Farrell
(A) The Dictionary of Lost Words by Pip Williams



The Narrow Land by Christine Dwyer Hickey
The Parisian by Isabella Hammad
To Calais, In Ordinary Times by James Meek
Shadowplay by Joseph O’Connor
The Redeemed by Tim Pears
A Sin of Omission by Marguerite Poland


The Long Take by Robin Robertson
(A) A Long Way Home by Peter Carey
After the Party by Cressida Connolly
The Western Wind by Samantha Harvey
Now We Shall Be Entirely Free by Andrew Miller
Warlight by Michael Oondaatje


The Gallows Pole by Benjamin Myers
Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan
Sugar Money by Jane Harris
Grace by Paul Lynch
The Wardrobe Mistress by Patrick McGrath
Miss Boston and Miss Hargreaves by Rachel Malik


Sebastian Barry Days Without End
Jo Baker A Country Road, A Tree
Charlotte Hobson The Vanishing Futurist
(A) Hannah Kent The Good People
Francis Spufford Golden Hill
Graham Swift Mothering Sunday
Rose Tremain The Gustav Sonata


Simon Mawer Tightrope
William Boyd Sweet Caress
Patrick Gale A Place Called Winter
Gavin McCrea Mrs Engels
Allan Massie End Games in Bordeaux
(A) Lucy Treloar Salt Creek


John Spurling The Ten Thousand Things
Martin Amis The Zone of Interest
Helen Dunmore The Lie England
Hermione Eyre Viper Wine
Adam Foulds In the Wolf’s Mouth
Damon Galgut Arctic Summer
Kamila Shamsie A God in Every Stone


Robert Harris An Officer and a Spy
Kate Atkinson Life After Life
Eleanor Catton The Luminaries
Jim Crace Harvest
Andrew Greig Fair Helen
Ann Weisgarber The Promise


Tan Twan Eng The Garden of Evening Mists
Pat Barker Toby’s Room
(A) Thomas Keneally The Daughters of Mars
Hilary Mantel Bring Up the Bodies
Anthony Quinn The Streets
Rose Tremain Merivel: A Man of His Time


Sebastian Barry On Canaan’s Side
Patrick DeWitt The Sisters Brothers
Esi Edugyan Half-Blood Blues
Alan Hollinghurst The Stranger’s Child
Andrew Miller Pure
Barry Unsworth The Quality of Mercy


Andrea Levy The Long Song
Tom McCarthy C
David Mitchell The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet
Joseph O’Connor Ghost Light
C. J. Sansom Heartstone
Andrew Williams To Kill A Tsar


Hilary Mantel Wolf Hall
Adam Thorpe Hodd
Robert Harris Lustrum
Sarah Dunant Sacred Hearts
Iain Pears Stone’s Fall
Simon Mawer The Glass Room
Adam Foulds The Quickening Maze

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s