After by Morris Gleitzman

After is the fourth book in Gleitzman’s series about Felix.

After came as a bit of a surprise for all of us, including Gleitzman himself. We all thought the story was done and dusted after Now. But it turns out that Felix had more to say.

After takes us back to the war. Felix is still in hiding in Gabriek’s barn, but the Russians are on their way and the German’s are fleeing…burning and pillaging as they leave.

After sees Felix and Gabriek helping the Partisans, fleeing the Germans and Allied bombing and confronting the reality of the concentration camps.

As with the other three novels, the story is told simply though the young Felix’s eyes. Despite (or maybe because of) the juvenile language and thinking processes, the emotional impact is quite powerful in places.

Gleitzman has written a wonderful series for younger readers that takes them into the heart of Nazi Germany and the effects of the Holocaust. In spite of all the horror and heartbreak, he shows us the power of resilience, hope and love.

Mature 8+ readers could manage this although the content is aimed more at the 10+ reading level.

4 thoughts on “After by Morris Gleitzman

  1. After sounds like an interesting story. In a sense it's related to the novel-Book Thief- which is a child's perspective about the persecution of the Jews.


Leave a Reply to Mary @ StackingMyBookShelves! Cancel reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s